div

Speakers:

Estela Aragón, Research Officer, IOM Regional Office for North America, Central America and the Caribbean

Briana Mawby, Lead Researcher, IOM Regional Office for North America, Central America and the Caribbean

Wanya Illes, Senior Technical Officer, Caribbean Community

Clarence Henry, Programme Officer, Regional Integration Unit, Organization of Eastern Caribbean States


The number of people utilizing free movement provisions to move within the Caribbean is increasing each year. However, the lack of public awareness about how to migrate within the free movement regimes limits the provisions’ impact. 

Authors of the new study, Free Movement of Persons in the Caribbean: Economic and Security Dimensions, will discuss with webinar participants various issues that arise from the study. The Report explains that the number of intraregional migrants and people utilizing Skills Certificates is increasing and that, despite uneven implementation, both regimes have made progress to ensure access to and portability of social security benefits. There are, however, concerns about the limited ability to track and vet individuals moving throughout the region, and the report highlights the critical need to improve data collection and development of indicators to better understand the economic impacts of free movement of persons in the Caribbean. 

This is the first study of its kind in the Caribbean, examining the economic and security impacts of two regional agreements related to migration through in-depth interviews conducted in six Caribbean countries. The study provides an unparalleled analysis of migration trends within the region through the free movement regimes.   

In addition to the authors, representatives from CARICOM CSME and the OECS will share their perspectives on regional integration, regional mobility of people, and the future of migration in the region.

Fifty government officials from six Member States participated in this study, which was conducted over the course of eight months in 2019. This research was conducted within the framework of IOM Western Hemisphere Migration Program, financed by the Bureau of Population, Refugees and Migration of the Department of State of the United States of America.

When: Thursday, 13 February 2020
9:00 – 10:30 CST (San José)
10:00 – 11:30 EST (New York, Kingston)
11:00 - 12:30 AST (Georgetown, Eastern Caribbean)
12:00 – 13:30 SRT (Paramaribo)
16:00 – 17:30 CET (Geneva)

Download the report here

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE WEBINAR

 

See all documents by signing in

Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.